Jane Eyre

Orphaned into the household of her Aunt Reed at Gateshead, subject to the cruel regime at Lowood charity school, Jane Eyre nonetheless emerges unbroken in spirit and integrity. She takes up the post of governess at Thornfield, falls in love with Mr. Rochester, and discovers the impediment to their lawful marriage in a story that transcends melodrama to portray a woman’s passionate search for a wider and richer life than Victorian society traditionally allowed. With a heroine full of yearning, the dangerous secrets she encounters, and the choices she finally makes, Charlotte Bronte’s innovative and enduring romantic novel continues to engage and provoke readers.

There is something about reading a classic that fills you with an expectation that seems unreachable. I have to admit that I actually don’t know that much about what a lot of the classics are actually about and Jane Eyre was no different, it is known to me for being a really good classic rather than its story. Like with Pride and Prejudice though I was actually quite glad I didn’t know they story as I was able to enjoy its plot developing. 

I did suspect that it was a love story but I was surprised that it is autobiographical. The story is easy to split into parts. Her childhood with Mrs Reed. Her teenage years at Lowood. Being a governess at Thornfield. Living with the Rivers and returning to Mr Rochester.  From the beginning it is quite an action packed story. There is lots of things that occur that keep your interest and Jane’s strong character is interesting to experience, particularly while with Mrs Reed. When she moves to Lowood she is able to experience a better quality of company and I think this really rubs off on her. The religious beliefs of her friend in particular appear again through out the book. There was a lot of unexpected almost paranormal incidents once she moves to Thornfield. However her time there was my favourite to read about. I loved her relationship with Adele and I never suspected Rochester’s behaviours being to out Jane. To me there was a bit of The Sound of Music about the story with Jane becoming a governess and falling in love with her master. When things seemed to be working well for her and it was only just half way through the book I was sure something bad was about to happen but the truth was not what I had expected. I can’t decided if I feel her decision to run away was a good one or not but I did enjoy her time at the moor house. It was nice for her to again make friends and the story felt a bit lighter again till Johns proposal. The ending of course is a good one although the things that occurred while she was gone where extreme and unexpected. 

There were times as i often find with classics when I was just scanning the page a bit as I lost concentration but I don’t think I missed anything important and I did really enjoy the story. It was full of things to keep you turning pages and the characters were interesting, I am pleased to be a bit further in my quest to read the classics and it is getting easier with every book. 

What's you Opinion ?

