Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Book Turn-Offs

 

This week we’ve been asked by The Broke and The Bookish for our Top Ten Book Turn-Offs. This is a great topic and I can’t wait to see what everyone else is going to put on their lists. For me however I can actually think of only a few things that really put me off a book;

  • Small Print – If there writing in the books is really small it often looks like the page is way too crowded and I just can’t concentrate on it.
  • Large Print – This is makes me sounds really fussy but size of print is important when reading a book for me and too big makes me feel like the books making up for something.
  • No Chapters – I like the natural breather you get from chapters and I hate putting a book down in the middle of one so if there is no chapter I just can’t stand it.
  • Lack of Punctuation – This is something that came up recently with a book I read and it just infuriated me, I couldn’t keep track with the speech and I missed the point and the enjoyment of the book.
  • Girly Covers – I’m not really into girly books and if the cover looks girly I wont go near it
  • Movie Covers – I appreciate for the author their book being made into a movie is a great thing but when I see a book I want to be able to pictures its events as the words inspire me not how someone else has seen them.
  • Vampires – I’ve had my fix of vampires and now I tend to stay away from them unless highly recommended
  • High Fantasy – This is a little vague but I just don’t like knights and fairies and magic and things like that.

What Are Your Book Turn-Offs?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Book Turn-Offs

  1. I like what you say about chapters. I’m definitely someone who needs some kind of structure by which I can measure my progress through the book. In a way, this is one reason (for me) to like ebooks, because all ereaders show you a percentage you can measure by. I am a sucker for high fantasy, though. 😀 Great list! 😀

    My TTT

What's you Opinion ?

