Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books With X Setting – Top Ten Books Set During War/Conflict

Usually I don’t like when The Broke and The Bookish  give us topics about genres or settings but this week we have Top Ten Books With X Setting and I managed to think of a good one for a change. I have decided on books set during war or conflict. I have read quite a few books set during real conflicts around the world particularly the Second World War so there was enough to pick out 9 of the best. (I couldn’t decide between the other ones which I would put 10th and I wanted to stick with ones turned to fiction so didn’t include Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank)

WW2

    

Germany – Nazi – Hitler

  • Annexed by Sharon Doger
  • Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  • Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian
  • When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit by Judith Kerr

Lithuania – Soviets – Stalin

  • Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys

WW1

  • Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo

Other Conflicts

 

  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini – Set during conflict in Afghanistan
  • Over A Thousand Hills I walk With You by Hannah Jansen – Set During the conflict in Rwanda

What Are Your Favourite Books Set During War/Conflict?

What Setting Did You Pick?

 

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books With X Setting – Top Ten Books Set During War/Conflict

  1. I also chose WWII/Shoah books. When I was 14, I read When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit, and remember enjoying it. Annexed and The Book Thief were both DNFs for me. A WWII book outside of the familiar European setting which I’d recommend is Richard Kim’s Lost Names. It’s about a Korean family during the Japanese occupation.

What's you Opinion ?

