Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Favourite Beginnings/Endings in Books

We have another great topic from The Broke and The Bookish this week asking our Top Ten Favourite Beginnings/Endings In Books. I felt this could be interpreted in two ways as in books you often have the end of the plot before the last page and both could have counted but I’ve decided to go for the last page. Instead of just doing ten endings though I am doing 5 of each because I couldn’t think about one with out the other. Unlike the endings thought my favourite beginnings are defined by the initial statements rather than whole pages.

Beginnings

Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince by JK Rowling – This has to go at the top of my list because it isn’t the first page that I love but the whole first chapter. I think it’s my favourite start to any book every and is the exception to my list. 

IMAG0441

Will Grayson Will Grayson by John Green – Who doesn’t love a book beginning about picking your nose?

IMAG0444

Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian – This book ended up on my list because my friend said she hated the start of it because it begins with the word ‘Yes’ but to me that makes it totally engaging.

IMAG0443

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – I’m sure this one will be very popular today but I would be lying to myself if I did say I loved it.

IMAG0447

Everything Beautiful by Simmone Howell – The first paragraph of this book is so good because its is just full of the beauty of being young and free.

IMAG0448Endings

Rapture by Lauren Kate – Some people have complained the ending of this book was  a little soppy but for me it was the perfect solution to the problem and the last pages encompasses the personalitites of the characters and the theme of the whole series.

IMAG0446

Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian – This in another book with a perfect ending as both characters finally have what they always wanted but more importantly needed.

IMAG0452

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling – I’m not sure what exactly about this one I like I think its a mixture of it all, Harry giving his money to the twins and asking them to give Ron a gift, his interactions with Molly and Hermione and the wisdom of Hagrid.

IMAG0438

Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix by JK Rowling –  The ending to this book is so good because after being so dark its so comical, being threatened by Madeye would be terrifying.

IMAG0439

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by JK Rowling – The last paragraph of this book is beautiful because it shows that the very reason Harry is able to defeat Voldemort, because he has friendship and love that give him hope. 

IMAG0440

What Are Your Favourite Book Beginnings and Endings?

 

 

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Favourite Beginnings/Endings in Books

  1. I really like your post and your picks of the beginning and ending of the books. 🙂 Fun!
    I do love P&P, but most of all, I agree with your love for “The Other Minister”. I had forgotten about that beginning. But now that I think about it, it is super wonderful!
    My TTT

  2. You’re right, I absolutely loved the beginning to The Half Blood Prince. And all of the endings of the HP books are favorites for me, though some much darker and more depressing than others. :/

  3. Haha, I love how Harry Potter dominated your list. I was afraid it would do the same to mine as well, so I limited it to only two quotes from the series. Which was hard. But you have some other great quotes here too 🙂

  4. I love that you’ve included so many Harry Potters. Rowling was great at drawing people in with her beginnings and then leaving them laughing/wanting more with her endings.

    And yes, Pride and Prejudice is featuring on a lot of lists (mine included) but that’s because it’s got a great beginning.

    Here’s my list. I’ve gone mostly for opening lines.

What's you Opinion ?

