Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Most Intimidating Books

Our topic this week from The Broke and The Bookish is the Top Ten Most Intimidating Books. I found this quite a hard list to write, I wasn’t sure what makes a book intimidating but I guess that it’s different for everyone. I couldn’t think of 10 books exactly but I do have a small list of the types of writing that I struggle with.

Jane AustenI have only read one of her novels and I did enjoy it and want to read them all but I find the way she writes less accessible than a lot of modern writing. 

ClassicsLike Jane Austen it is the way most classic are written that I find difficult. The often have a lot of words instead of just a few and that make is more of a drag to read.

Philosophy –  I have a book in my shelf that I have had for quite a long time about philosophy and although I really want to read it and have started it once but the in depth topic makes it more of a drag than a pleasure to read.   

FrenchReading was one of the parts of French at school that I was quite good at but when my Auntie gave me a whole book written in French was more scared to read it than excited and it’s still sitting unread on my shelf. 

Adult FictionI don’t find these books so much intimidating more inaccessible. I don’t relate to them very well and often find the topics lacking in imagination. 

What Books Do You Find Intimidating?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Most Intimidating Books

  1. I like that you did categories instead of specific titles. That does help encompass a whole lot more. Like you, I’d like to read more Jane Austin, but her writing is hard to get into. I think the only one of hers I’ve actually read is Pride and Prejudice. I’d like to read a few of the others, especially the ones that don’t have film versions. 😀

    My TTT

What's you Opinion ?

