The House of Silk

Book Blurb

THE GAME’S AFOOT…
It is November 1890 and London is gripped by a merciless winter. Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson are enjoying tea by the fire when an agitated gentleman arrives unannounced at 221b Baker Street. He begs Holmes for help, telling the unnerving story of a scar-faced man with piercing eyes who has stalked him in recent weeks.
Intrigued, Holmes and Watson find themselves swiftly drawn into a series of puzzling and sinister events, stretching from the gas-lit streets of London to the teeming criminal underworld of Boston and the mysterious ‘House of Silk’..

My Synopsis

Watson has one more story to tell about his adventures with the well-known Mr Sherlock Holmes. In fact they are two stories that became inseparable. The results of their investigations and in fact the incidents themselves however were just to dark and horrible to be written down at the time but now the world might be read to hear about The Man in The Flat Cap and The House of Silk.

When Sherlock and Watson are approached regarding a man being stalked they are unaware of quite how much danger they are getting themselves into. Events soon build from a burglary to envelope the pair into the criminal world putting not just  Sherlock’s reputation on the line but the lives of some unlikely people who surround him. 

Review

It took my a while to sit down and give this book a good shot but once I did I enjoyed it. It’s quite hard to review it though because I’m sure for a lot of people they want to know how it compares to the original. Unfortunately I haven’t read any of them yet so I can only comment on how they book worked for me, and maybe a little about how I imagined bit’s like the film. 

As the book is set in 1890 I did use some of my imagery from the recent films to help get me into the spirit of the book. They way it was written also helped though as it was clear from how Watson spoke and the things he described reflected London at that time. I think it is easy to forget when you watch the films and TV series that the books are from Watson’s point of view and as this is my first time reading the books I enjoyed getting to experience that. Although it could be quite frustrating at points when you really wanted to understand how Sherlock was thinking or what he was doing this added to the pleasure of the book and as it progressed I enjoyed it more and more. 

The story line it’s self was full of the expected mystery. Watson and Sherlock find themselves caught up in some dark crimes that although seem totally independent will of course soon prove otherwise. They story came together really well from me and although I did attempt to try to make a guess at what might be going on I never really managed. 

There was of course familiar characters in the story, Watson’s wife, Lestrade, Mycroft and a brief encounter with the famous  mathematician. All were as easy to imagine as they are in many of the other Sherlock works and the additional characters for this particular case were just as interesting. Sherlock himself proved to be as brilliant a character as he always is and for the first time a bit of humanity was even brought out in him that I can’t say I have really experienced before. Not that it hasn’t been done before I’m sure but for me the ending brought about some emotion for me surrounding Sherlock’s feelings and his relationships. 

I would encourage anyone who enjoys Sherlock to give this book a try, it is a great read and bring Sherlock and Watson and their adventures alive brilliantly. 

One thought on “The House of Silk

  1. I’ve seen this book about in book stores and even picked it up once or twice but never committed to buying it. Why? I adore the original Sherlock Holmes stories and I know I’ll compare, its hard not to really. I’m sure one day I’ll give it a go though, your review did sell to me a bit.

    My Book Bubble

What's you Opinion ?

