Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Book I Thought I’d Like More/Less Than I Did

This weeks topic from The Broke and The Bookish is Top Ten Books I thought I’d like more or less than I did. I don’t think before I started blogging I would have had any on the thought I like less list but now I have more on that list. I think we could have just picked on but I have gone for a bit of both.

Thought I’d Like More

  • Warm Bodies by Issac Marion I was really excited about this book becuase it seemed like a really original idea but for me there wasn’t enought excitement in it. 
  • The Auschwitz Violin by Maria Angels Anglada Books about the war tend to grab my attention and because I like music I thought this sounded really interesting but I found it lacked the emotional connection. 
  • Uglies Series by Scott Westerfeld Dystopian is another thing that makes me pick up a book and I liked the idea of a world obsessed with beauty because it is becoming true but the main character was just totally unlikeable. 
  • Delirium by Lauren Oliver This was another dystopian that I thought had merit in its idea but just didn’t have the drive for me. 
  • The Medusa Project by Sophie McKenzie I love how Sophie Mckenzie writes action books that still feel realistic and I was looking forward to this series but it didn’t like up to her Blood series. 
  • The Fault In Our Stars by John Green This one might be a bit contreversial as I know how much people love John Green but for me this story wasn’t what everyone made it out to be I think just because I have read a lot of similar stuff. 
  • The Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis My disappointment from this book may be because of my age but I felt this book missed a bit of action. 

Though I’d Like Less

  • Before I Go To Sleep by SJ Watson I wasn’t sure what to expect from this book but everyone kept recommending it to me so I gave it a try and it blew me away. Totally original idea and racing plot. 
  • The Black Pear by Alan Porter This was a kindle freebie that I thought I would try as I don’t usually read a lot of scary mystery and it was free so worth it but it turned out to be really interesting. 
  • Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver After not enjoying the first book in the series as much as I expected I was just reading this to see what happened but the different lay out of the book and more action going on made it really enjoyable. 

What Books Did You Find Better Or Worse Than You Expected?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Book I Thought I’d Like More/Less Than I Did

    • I know other people who have really enjoyed Warm Bodies I just didn’t find it as original as I was expecting. I’m going to reread Delirium as the last book in the series just come out so its not too bad

  1. I’m surprised to see Before I Go To Sleep as a book you enjoyed more than you thought you would, whilst I didn’t think it a bad book by any means (I gave it a 4 star rating overall) I just expected more, I expected a 5 star rating.
    I think it is interesting to see how different books had different expectations from their readers.

  2. Totally agreed about The Chronicles of Narnia. I tried reading them as a kid and couldn’t get into them, and didn’t even like the movies that much. I just couldn’t stand being beaten over the head with allegory, you know? 🙂

    I’m bummed that you didn’t like Warm Bodies! It is the first in a series, though, and those are often a little less exciting. I think it’s got some great themes and ideas, and I’m excited to see where it goes.

    Here’s my TTT for the week. Happy reading!

What's you Opinion ?

