An Abundance of Katherines

Book Blurb

When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type is girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact. On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight Judge Judy – loving best friend riding shotgun – but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl. Love, friendship, and a dead Austro-Hungarian archduke add up to surprising and heart-changing conclusions in this ingeniously layered comic novel about reinventing oneself.

My Synopsis

Colin is fed up. In his life he has had 19 girlfriends, all called Katherine and yet again he has been dumped. This one feels different though, he really loved her and now he feels like not only will he never become a genius he won’t get K-19. It is at this point that his best friend Hassan suggest they take a road trip and with nothing better to do they set off.

Colin thinks that is he can theorize his experience with Katherines and predict who is going to dump who when he can become a genius and get Katherine back. However not far into their trip they end up in Gunshot where they meet Lindsey. They are introduced to her friends and her mother who insists they stay there and work for her. Lindsey is happy just living in her wee town not mattering to the world but her mother has a secret and knows that Colin and Hassan can teach her just as much as they will learn from Gunshot. 

Review

I know there are many, many John Green lovers out there, and I do really like him and the Vlogbrother video’s but I have to say that I am  yet to be totally blown away by his books. This one however I felt when I’d finished that I had enjoyed though. 

This may be controversial, if I haven’t already overstepped that line, but I actually think this may be may favourite of his I have read. Although the plot wasn’t racy like a lot of them books I am into at the moment I was pleasantly swept along with the story. Colin’s problem although prompted by the bizare number of Katherines in his life wasn’t that uncommon. So many people find themselves just living and trying to find away to make themselves matter and I think his trip shows how important it is to get out in the world because that is where you really learn lives lessons. 

Having listened to John Green reading past of this book on a Vlogbrothers video I found myself at the start hearing it in my head in his voice and I found that really helped me to take in the story better. There were quite a few points where I found myself reading thoughts of the characters and thinking that they reflected what I know of John from seeing him on tour and on videos. The characters were also really enjoyable and I think that might be the point of the book. It is about the fact that Colin had to learn that he can’t predict the future an that he can live on through storied but it’s also about people and the fact the both Colin and Lindsey learn that they can be whoever they want to be is what gave me a buzz when finishing this book.

 

What's you Opinion ?

