Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Rewind – Top Ten Movie Adaptations

This week I have picked from The Broke and The Bookish rewind list Top Ten Movie Adaptations. However I am not going to write the normal top ten layout I am going to share me favourite and worst adaptations and the couple that sit on the fence.

Favourite Adaptations – For me these are the adaptations that I think kepp well to the books of in the case of the last two are even better than the books.

  • Now is Good 
  • The Chronicles of  Narnia 
  • The Hunger Games 
  • The Hobbit 
  • The Boy in the Striped Pajamas 

Worst Adaptation – For different reasons these are bad adaptations. The first is mostly due to bad actors, the second is because they put too much of the rest of the series in and the last because the completely changed the ending. Although I did still cry the first time I saw it.

  • Twilight 
  • Cirque Du Freak – The Vampires Assistant 
  • My Sister’s Keeper 

Adaptations on the Fence – These films are ones that I do actually really enjoy however they do waver from the book so I can’t say they are my favourite.

  • Harry Potter Series 
  • The Wizard of Oz 

What Are Your Favourite And Worst Movie Adaptations?

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Rewind – Top Ten Movie Adaptations

  1. Great list! I too loved Hunger Games and was SOOO impressed with the Hobbit. I’ve never read My Sister’s Keeper. I liked the movie but I did hear the ending was different. Not a huge Jodi Piccoult fan, though, so it worked pretty well for me. 😀
    My TTT

    • I cant say I liked My Sisters Keeper the first time I watched it but it did make me emotional and I can see how its good if you haven’t read the book. For me now though when I watch it it just annoys me its different from the book.

  2. I really liked The Hunger Games movie, but I still need to see Chronicles of Narnia. I love the books, I just haven’t had a chance to see the movies (except the old classic one which I loved as a kid). I totally agree with Twilight being the worst because of bad acting. And even though nothing will ever compare to the Harry Potter books, I still adore the movies and think they did a fantastic job of bringing them from page to screen. Great list! 🙂

    My Top Ten Tuesday

    • Thanks, I think the Narnia films are better than the books if I’m honest but I did see them before reading the books so I found the books a bit lacking in action if I’m honest.

  3. I haven’t seen most of these adaptations, but I think the HP movies are actually pretty well done. To me, they’re very well cast and the acting’s pretty darn good, really. I just saw The Hobbit in 3D and enjoyed it — it’s been a VERY long time since I read the book, though, so I couldn’t compare them very well, you know?

    • The acting in Harry Potter can’t really be complained about. For me the film of the Hobbit was better than the book because reading it I couldn’t find anything to like about Bilbo but I love Martin Freeman.

  4. I agree with a lot of what you said. The Chronicles of Narnia, The Hunger Games, and The Hobbit were really well done — I was quite impressed. I enjoyed My Sister’s Keeper movie until the ending when they changed everything. I couldn’t forgive them for that. And Twilight, just…ugh. I’m obsessed with the Harry Potter books but the movies were so so for me. I won’t actively watch them all the time like I would read the books.

    • I have to confess that I didn’t read the Harry Potter books till after the movies were out so for me the films are just really good films. Don’t get me wrong I agree the books are better and they films miss stuff out but in a way I’m glad I did it that way round because now I can appreciate them both.

      • That’s probably a much better way to do it. It’s like you said, you can appreciate both as two separate entities. I’m quite protective with book-to-movie adaptions, especially with casting, and they chose an incredible cast. All of them lived up to my expectations. It’s just when they chose to take important things out (or, I suppose, important things for the readers), that’s when I started getting upset. But I do enjoy watching the movies from time to time (particularly the 1st, 2nd, 5th, 6th, 7th part one). Those ones were really well done.

      • I think if I had read the books first I would have felt the same as I am very picky about adaptations too but I’m glad the casting lived up to your expectations 🙂

  5. I have mixed feelings about The Hobbit…it was an enjoyable movie, but I’d just re-read the book in preparation for the film, and it does NOT need to be three movies long! I’m excited that Richard Armitage is finally getting the Hollywood exposure he deserves, though.

    My feelings on the Harry Potter series are mixed, too. I thought the first two were too loyal to the books, while the third one went off the rails completely. The last…hmm…yeah, I’d say the last 3 books turned into pretty great movies, Deathly Hallows especially.

    • The last 3 HP books were done well into films and I think splitting the last one really helped that but it’s a bit annoying it has become a ‘thing’ now and I agree the Hobbit doesn’t need the same treatment.

What's you Opinion ?

