Cinder

Book Blurb

A forbidden romance.

A deadly plague.

Earth’s fate hinges on one girl . . .

CINDER, a gifted mechanic in New Beijing, is also a cyborg. She’s reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s sudden illness. But when her life becomes entwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she finds herself at the centre of a violent struggle between the desires of an evil queen – and a dangerous temptation.

Cinder is caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal. Now she must uncover secrets about her mysterious past in order to protect Earth’s future.

This is not the fairytale you remember. But it’s one you won’t forget.

My Synopsis

In a part of the world slowing dying from a yet incurable plague Cinder also has to deal with being put down by everyone because she is cyborg, especially her guardian and her eldest daughter. She is famous however for her mechanical skills and it is this knowledge that results in her trying to fix the Princes very own android.  Cinder she has an android of her own to befriend and the youngest daughter is on Cinder’s side however on the same day as the prince’s visit her life is turned upside down.

The youngest daughter gets ill and Cinder is blamed. Furious she sends Cinder to become a test subject for curing the plague where she meets an unusual doctor. He seems curious of how Cinder reacts to the infection and even more so of her make up and when he lies to the prince she knows something isn’t quite right. However is he a bad guy? He warns Cinder to stay away from the palace when the Queen of Luna comes and when she doesn’t we learn the truth about both his and her past. 

Review

I don’t know if it is because I have read so many great reviews about this book or just because of how it was but this book really didn’t do anything for me. I appreciated the originality of the retelling of such a classic story but I felt it didn’t help excite me through out the predictable plot. For me everything was just ok, nothing was spectacular.

I liked the characters but I felt the other characters had more energy about them than Cinder. I liked the idea of combined continental nations and the new technologies but for me I just couldn’t get a pleasant picture in my head of how it all worked out that made me want to keep reading. My biggest issue I think with it though is that although it is part of a series and I accept that it still needs to stand alone in its own right as a book and the end just didn’t satisfy me as doing that. None of the issues raised in the book were concluded at all at the end so for me it was really a completed story as part of a wider story. 

For people who enjoy fairy tale retellings I am sure you will appreciate this book. For me however it just didn’t hit the spot and I’m not going to bother reading the next one. 

What's you Opinion ?

