The Host

Book Blurb

Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. Earth has been invaded by a species that takes over the minds of human hosts while leaving their bodies intact, and most of humanity has succumbed.

Wanderer, the invading “soul” who has been given Melanie’s body, knew about the challenges of living inside a human: the overwhelming emotions, the too vivid memories. But there was one difficulty Wanderer didn’t expect: the former tenant of her body refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of the man Melanie loves – Jared, a human who still lives in hiding. Unable to separate herself from her body’s desires, Wanderer yearns for a man she’s never met. As outside forces make Wanderer and Melanie unwilling allies, they set off to search for the man they both love.

My Synopsis

When Wanderer awake on Earth in a Human Host she listens quietly for a bit to her Seeker talking of her reputation. Souls are suppose to have love for everyone but for some reason she seems to find this seeker unlikable and it is a feeling that doesn’t leave her easily. For this reason when Wandered finds that her host’s thoughts wont be quietened she tries to avoid her finding out. 

Souls can’t lie though and her worried comforter tell the seeker of her difficulties. It is suggested to her that she change host and so she begins the journey to see her trusted healer. This journey however gives her time to think, and time with Melanie’s thoughts. Melanie isn’t about to let herself be destroyed and knowing that Wanderer can feel her desire to find her brother and boyfriend she convinces her to go looking for them instead. 

When all hope seems lost after wandering in the desert mountains they are finally found by Melanie’s uncle and he seems to sense her inside. This saves her but she still has to win over the rest of the humans hiding from her species. Wanderer is about to discover the other side of humanity from all her knowledge of them and also a truth about herself as well as challenging both the humans and herself to rethink their views of one another. 

Review

I’m not sure where to start with this review, I have both good and bad points to bring up. When this book was first released I did try to read it but it was such a different style to what I was use to at the time that I didn’t really give it a chance. With the film coming out soon though my friends really wanted me to read it so I gave it another go. This time I found it fair easy to get in to. There was plenty that I like about the book. I found that because Wanderer could hear Melanie and have conversations with her that it was like there were two main characters. It felt like a very fresh and original idea which I enjoyed reading about. It is also the only book I have ever read where the love triangle included two girls and one boy. I have no idea if any other books have this set up but for me it’s the only one and it was good to get away from that popular format. The base of the story was also interesting. The idea of an alien species taking over the earth but by taking over the humans directly and living almost like we did but with better health systems and no money. I don’t know if you could count it as a dystopian but it does challenge some of our societal set ups and the human desire for violence.

What bothered me about the book though was that I felt it had the potential to be so much more that it was. It was suppose to be a love story, about how Wanderer couldn’t escape the power love that Melanie felt for her brother but especially Jared and how she learnt about love for herself. For me though this love story wasn’t really that powerful. I felt that her battle between humanity and being a Soul was much more powerful and I kept wanting the story to be about the humans either trying to take back what is there or at  least fighting t0 try and live side by side. I felt that this was touched on a bit in the story and I think that is why I am frustrated. I kept waiting on some action but it never really happened.

Overall I did enjoyed the book. I found it interesting. I liked the idea of what was going on and I enjoyed the double character in Wanderer. I just want someone like Sophie McKenzie to re-write it to give it the action boost it needs to be a great book.

2 thoughts on “The Host

  1. This has been on my TBR forever, but I never get around to it…probably because all the reviews I read are kind of lukewarm! Constantly feeling like some action is missing is definitely a letdown. Thanks for sharing your review!

  2. Oh I totally agree with you with the missed potential! I wanted to like it more than I did and I think I had the same lingering thoughts when I was done.

What's you Opinion ?

