Fever

Book Blurb

A fearless Roman gladiator.

A reckless 21st century girl.

A mysterious virus unites them . . .

152 AD. Sethos Leontis, a skilled and mesmerising fighter, is unexpectedly wounded and lies dangerously close to death.

2012 AD. Eva is brilliant – but troubled. Starting her new life at a school for the gifted, a single moment in the lab has terrifying results.

An extraordinary link brings Sethos and Eva together, but it could force them apart – because the fever that grips them cannot be cured and falling in love could be lethal . . . Can love survive when worlds collide and threaten time itself?

My Synopsis

In 2012 Eva has just been expelled from another school after hacking into the headteacher’s PC. She is just beginning to realise that although she seems to have some special talents that make her intelligent without A levels she won’t have much of a future when she comes across St Mags school for the gifted. Without telling her parents she applies and before she knows it she is finally happy and actually feeling like she lives a normal life. At St Mags she is no longer bored by classes filled with stuff she already understand and she finally has friends. 

In AD 152 Sethos world is also about to change. A famous Gladiator he enjoys what he does although he a slave however when he meets Livia he has a new reason to win his fight.  Things don’t go quite to plan though and Seth finds himself with a fever and living at Livia’s house. As she helps care for him he falls in love with her but she is to be married. He isn’t just going to sit back and lose his only love but this causes more pain than love. 

Back in 2012 Eva is also about to have her life almost torn from her. When she meets a guest talker she is introduced to biology she can’t understand and after an accident that almost kills her she becomes determined to find out what exactly was in the vile she dropped. 

Waking up in a strange new place with his best friend Seth also starts doing research of his on. Where is he? Why? and how can he get to see his beloved again?

It is then that he meets Zach and goes to St Mags in the hope of finding research but instead he is about to meet Eva.

Review

I’m not a big fan of the cover of this book but the reason I picked it up is because I was drawn to the first line of the blurb. I immediately thought of Rory from Dr Who and so I thought lets give it ago. Right from the fist page I enjoyed this book. The parts set in 2012 I particularly enjoyed, the clever but troubles teenage who craved a normal life and finally got it at a far from normal boarding school. I found Eva a character I could like very easily and they way it was written engaged me.

The story is split into three parts and in the first we hear from Eva in first person and learn about Seth in third. I found this an interesting mix however I admit it took me longer to feel connected to Seth as we experience his world in a different way. I am not a huge fan of stories set to far back in history but Seths story was still interesting and I think it made me acceptance how quickly he feel in love easier as I believe falling in love in the past was much simpler because their lives were shorter.

In part two we get to hear from Seth in first person which I enjoyed much more. They also move away from being set in history and we begin to see how the two may become connected. It is over half way through the book before there is really any sign of how the stories might link up which I found a little frustrating however it does all work. 

In the final part of the book Seth is able to get move to 2013 where he and Eva are finally united. Things don’t run smoothly of course but they way being together makes them feel causes Eva to discover a whole past life that she has never been aware of before. 

I think that the plot to this stories wasn’t anything spectacular really. I have a few issues with the fact that some of the characters seemed important and then just disappeared and we briefly get an insight into Mats live that does affects the story but we don’t get to know much else about his thoughts really. The idea of a fever that can cause people to be connected was a really interesting one though and they way it was written with the mix or first and third person was something new to me. What I liked about the story was the characters and the written style. It was very easy to get into the book and follow the story and I almost read it all in just  a day.  

What's you Opinion ?

