Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Best Bookish Memories

 The Broke and The Bookish have given us another really good topic this week, out Top Ten Best Bookish Memories. This is  a really interesting topic because there are certainly a few things to consider. I’m including writing courses, festivals, visits and cinema trips in my list too because for me they are still bookish.

  • Arvon Writing Course at Moniack Mhor – When I was in my first year of high I went for a 4 day writing course in a cottage in the middle of nowhere and spent the week writing with teen author Catherine MacPhail and poet Gerry Cambridge. It was great fun and learnt a lot about writing but it also rekindled my love for reading. 
  • Dad reading to me when I was little – I have really fond memories of my dad reading to me when I was very young. My favourite was The Owl and The Pussycat which he knew off by heart and made some great voices to go along with it.
  • Edinburgh International Book Festival – I have been going to this for quite a few years now and I love it. We started going as school trips with the English department and got to see authors such as Catherine MacPahil, Elizabeth Laird, Catherine Forde and Kevin Brooks. However since then I have continued to go with my friends to see Darren Shan and LA Weatherly. It’s so cool to actually see the authors and talk to them about their books as well as getting your them signed.
  • Getting Breaking Dawn – It looks really sad when you see that but this was the first series of books I ever completed. I was the first one of my friends to read them and so I had to wait on each book getting published so as I loved the books I couldn’t wait to find out how it all ended. I don’t think I’ll ever forget this one coming because he pre-ordered it and it came the day I was going to the Edinburgh book festival and I had to start it and then leave it while I went out, it was torture. However once I got back home I stayed up all night to read it.
  • Going to see the Twilight Movie (Twice) – This sounds just as sad as the last one but my friends and I were pretty excited about the film coming out. (It was before I realised how awful book movies are). It came out on the last day of school before Christmas so we all went after lunch and took our copies of the book with us. We all agreed that it wasn’t nearly as good as the book but that didn’t stop us going straight back in to see it again after. It’s an afternoon I wont forget.
  • Fife Book Festival –  A few years ago Fife had it’s on book festival and as members of the library book club I got to take part. It was a really fun afternoon where we dressed up as characters from books to go on a wee parade, listen to authors talk about their books and meet some cool animals. It’s not really bookish but one of the best bits was getting a free shot of the Aquaballs as we were staff.
  • Anne Frank House – Going to see the Anne Frank House was really something memorable. Reading her diary is really powerful but it was hard for me to really imagine the space they had. I found it really interesting going to see the building and I read an information book about it before I went so I really got to just imagine how small it must have been for them.
  • Seeing Now is Good – I know that in most cases they books are better than the films, and of course the book Before I Die is still better than the film but I did find this a very good film. I thought they stuck to the story really well and it brought about the same emotions for me, which my poor boyfriend had to deal with as I totally broke down in tears at the end of it.
  • Seeing Great Expectation’s performed at Adam Smith Theatre – This one is a bit cheeky because it isn’t really the re-telling of Great Expectations that makes it memorable. It was a school trip we went on and for me it’s a good memory as it was the first time I really paid attention to the boy I am now dating.
  • Loosing my copy of The BFG – This isn’t a happy memory but it is something that sticks very much in my mind. When I was about 7 we went on holiday and I left my copy of The BFG on top of the pull out bunks in our hotel room. When we went back before we left however it had gone. We have still no idea what happened to it, if it fell down somewhere or the cleaners took it but mum had to buy me a new one on the way home. I’ll always remember it.

It’s weird thinking about all these things again, but it makes me smile. 🙂

What Are Your Best Bookish Memories?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Best Bookish Memories

  1. The BFG! Oh no. At least you got a new one though! I bet the Anne Frank house was astonishing. I can’t even imagine how emotional that was.
    It’s great to hear other bookish memories, and get a different perspective!
    -Beth @ YA Vixens

    Vixens Top Ten

  2. Ah! I always seem to lose something in hotel rooms. That is one traumatic event, losing The BFG. I’m not even being sarcastic. I also hate when you lend someone a book and you never see it again because they never give it back!

  3. Who had to dresss up in the lovely book bug costume for the fife book festival Emzi dear?!? 😛 Amazing day though, even if i did have to go to work straight after it! 😀 Havent read this in a while, so works a charm for procrastination! 😀 XX

What's you Opinion ?

