Project: Fairy Tale – The Fairy Tale Detectives

Book Blurb

For Sabrina and Daphne Grimm, life has not been a fairy tale. After the mysterious disappearance of their parents, the sisters are sent to live with their grandmother–a woman they believed was dead! Granny Relda reveals that the girls have two famous ancestors, the Brothers Grimm, whose classic book of fairy tales is actually a collection of case files of magical mischief. Now the girls must take on the family responsibility of being fairy tale detectives.

My Synopsis

The Fairy Tale Detectives is the first book in the Sister’s Grimm series. It the story of the great, great, great, great, grandchildren ( I think that’s the right amount) of Brothers Grimm. The two sisters Sabrina and Daphne have been orphaned for a year and a half and are unable to settle with a family when a grandmother they believed to be dead gets in touch and is to look after them. When they first meet her Sabrina is very suspicious of her and her driver and doesn’t believe she is really her Grandmother. Daphne on the other hand loves her straight away and is taken in when Grandma Grimm tells them they are off to find out why a giant is causing havoc in the town.

The girls have much to learn about the new place they live in though and the people who live there and it might take something drastic to get Sabrina to believe the truth about her family. 

Review

I thought that as an idea for a book this was quite an interesting one. The two sisters have quite a realistic relationship that balances between getting a long and arguing. However as you would expect Sabrina feels like she has to look after her little sister because her parents aren’t around. Most of the other characters in the story didn’t have a lot of development however this is just the first in a series that has 9 books in it. 

The plot for me was a little lacking. I can’t decide if there wasn’t enough in it that was developed of if it was that there was too much but for me it just wasn’t exciting enough. However I put that down to my age and I can see that for someone in their pre-teen years this could be an exciting book. 

Overall I liked the idea and I liked the book but I think that I am too old for them.

Project: Fairy Tale

I read this book for Project: Fairy Tale that I am taking part in this month. I thought it would be a nice extra to go along with my main theme of the Elves and the Shoemaker.  I think this series is a good example of how fairy tales have influenced modern writers. This series is quite different from a re-telling as it’s taking not just the characters out of several books and bringing them together but linking them to the original author of the stories through their family. As I have said I don’t think I will be reading the rest of the books in the series as they are a little young for me but I would recommend trying them if Fairy Tales and retellings are something you are interested in.

5 thoughts on “Project: Fairy Tale – The Fairy Tale Detectives

  1. I read this a few years ago, and I wasn’t madly in love with it. That being said, I know children, teens and parents that loved this series. I am wondering if they get better as the series progresses.

    I LOVE children’s books, and read them frequently, but this one was lacking something. I didn’t hate it by any means, but it wasn’t a favorite.

What's you Opinion ?

