John Green (and Me) on Likeable Character’s

  

My Tumblr dashboard page is often presenting to me new quotes by John Green and almost all are worth reading. This one in particular has caught my attention today however as last night I was writing my Top Ten Tuesday post about frustrating characters.

I understand that a book is suppose to be about the story, books were created to allow people to pass on stories to one another, but for me the characters are just as important if not more. I find that if I can’t connect to the main character I struggle to connect to the story, even if I love the idea of the plot. Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies series is an example of this as I thought the idea of a totally vain society is something we could easily become but his main character Tally was just awful and so I couldn’t enjoy reading the book because I was to busy being frustrated at how she behaved. Of course all books need to have a ‘bad guy’ in them so the main characters has someone to over come and I am not saying you have to like every character you read but although I appreciate the point John Green is trying to make I think what makes a good book is at least a likeable main character.

Are Likeable Character’s Important To You In Making A Book Good?  

2 thoughts on “John Green (and Me) on Likeable Character’s

  1. Oh heck yeah, I am in full agreement. I love John Green. I watch every new Vlogbrothers video John and Hank upload. And I’ve watched teh Literature and Wold History Crash Course videos. But I disagree with im vehemently about the likability of characters in books. Well, at least in regards to the main characters. I have to like the main character to like a book. It is the number one requirement for me. I’m not saying that character has to be perfect or that she must never make mistakes. But if I don’t like her or him, then forget about it.

    What I find pretty funny about John Green saying that is that his MCs are pretty damn likable in his books.

What's you Opinion ?

