Alice in Zombieland

Book Blur

She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

My Synopsis

Alice loves her sister more than anything and when she asks her to convince her Dad to let them go to her Ballet recital Alice wants to finally be successful. It’s her birthday and because her mum had forgotten Alice gets her way. However like most teenagers she is about to learn that parents do know best. 

Alice’s life is turned up side down. She has to move in with her Grandparents and change schools and she has to hide that all the things her dad had been protecting her from are real.  Her new school however is going to introduce her to friends that can help her though. A best friend like she has never happened before and a love interest that might be able to help her understand what she saw that tragic night she lost her family. 

 Review

The way Gena Showalter’s mind must work is amazing. If I didn’t know she has written this book I would be have been able to tell from the writing. I have only read one other of her books but I really enjoyed that and now this one.

When I picked up this book I was expecting it to be the story of Alice in Wonderland but with zombies. I was totally wrong. The White Rabbit Chronicles is one of the few direct references to the original story. Apart from the main character being called Alice and the similar chapter titles it isn’t like the story in the slightest. It is a modern teenage story about how Alice learns about the world zombie’s.

I felt there was a great balance of characters in this book. They were all written and explained well depending on how important they were to the story. Alice’s new best friend Kat is a brilliant character with a lot of confidence and her relationship with people I felt was quite typical of other characters I have come across. I also really liked Cole and how he and Alice interacted with each other as I believe that they were they real that is how they would be. What amused me most though was that I could see the characters in this story and how they were similar to the ones I read in the other book I have read by her. This may be annoying for some people I’m sure but for me it just made me really enjoy the book.

The plot line of the book I think isn’t very deep however as it is the first book in a trilogy I think it is successful in introducing all the characters and information we need to be aware of. There is plenty of action in the book though and that is what makes it work. There were enough points in it to keep you interested in how things were going to turn out but it also gradual brings in the information needed to make sense of the zombie world. The action is well spread throughout the book but it still has that last battle that every book has and a series needs to keep you going till the next one comes out. 

Overall I enjoyed this book. I haven’t really read many books about zombies but I trusted Gena Showalter and I wasn’t disappointed. I liked the way this book was written and it’s pace. For me the action/character balance was perfect and I am interested to see how the story is going to develop further. 

What's you Opinion ?

