Pride and Prejudice – Finally Loosing My Jane Austen Virginity

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.”

So begins Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen’s witty comedy of manners–one of the most popular novels of all time–that features splendidly civilized sparring between the proud Mr. Darcy and the prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet as they play out their spirited courtship in a series of eighteenth-century drawing-room intrigues. Renowned literary critic and historian George Saintsbury in 1894 declared it the “most perfect, the most characteristic, the most eminently quintessential of its author’s works,” and Eudora Welty in the twntieth century described it as “irresistible and as nearly flawless as any fiction could be.”

I can finally call myself a true book read as I have at least completed a Jane Austen book!. It has always shamed me that I hadn’t but called myself a book lover and so I decided I would finally read one and chose Pride and Prejudice from the advice of my friends. The story is about the Bennets, in particular the second oldest daughter Elizabeth. Mrs Bennet wants all her children to marry well and at the start of the book she is hopeful that her too oldest daughters will soon for fill her desires. When Mr Bingley moves in near by with his sisters and friend Mr Darcy Elizabeth soon make an opinion on how proud Mr Darcy but she does approve of her sisters affection for Mr Bingley. However things don’t go to plan and Elizabeth is saddened to see her sister lose a potential husband more than worrying about her than herself. Fate has a different plan though and through social interacts even as she travels she continually comes into contact with Mr Darcy. She soon learns that things she has heard about him are not exactly what they seem and her affections begin to change.

I was pleased when I started this book to find that I really enjoyed it. I could see the comedy that was suggested in the blurb but I also found the language easier than I had previously when trying to read Austen’s work. Maybe because I am a bit older or maybe just because I wanted to read it so much but I got into the story and although it took my a while to read enjoyed the plot. Mr Darcy is like the original bad boy that nobody approves of to start with but Elizabeth soon finds is exactly what she has been look for. I have to admit that when I was reading it I was thinking of how they characters would be in a modern book and that helped me a lot to enjoy they story. My friend was most amused when I told her I thought of Darcy like Travis from Jamie McGuire’s Beautiful Disaster.

When I thought about it I realised I actually didn’t know what happened in the story and I enjoyed it thoroughly the whole way through. I would definitely recommend this to anyone starting to get into classic’s or Jane Austen as this a book with comedy, plot and great characters.

5 thoughts on “Pride and Prejudice – Finally Loosing My Jane Austen Virginity

  1. Pride and Prejudice is my favorite book ever! I have read it multiple times, and many retellings. It usually takes me a few pages to get into the flow of the language, but then I am not stumbling anymore. I love Mr. Darcy 🙂

    So glad that you liked this one.

What's you Opinion ?

