The Knife Of Never Letting Go

Todd Hewitt is the only boy in a town of men. Ever since the settlers were infected with the Noise germ, Todd can hear everything the men think, and they hear everything he thinks. Todd is just a month away from becoming a man, but in the midst of the cacophony, he knows that the town is hiding something from him — something so awful Todd is forced to flee with only his dog, whose simple, loyal voice he hears too. With hostile men from the town in pursuit, the two stumble upon a strange and eerily silent creature: a girl. Who is she? Why wasn’t she killed by the germ like all the females on New World? Propelled by Todd’s gritty narration, readers are in for a white-knuckle journey in which a boy on the cusp of manhood must unlearn everything he knows in order to figure out who he truly is.

Todd just wanted to be a man like everybody else. He was fed up being the only boy left and how everyone treated him because of it. What he doesn’t know though, is that being a man would mean even worse things. Just a month before he turns 13 he realises something isn’t right and to make matters worse he stumbles on a secret that is about to esculate his problems. Forced to flee for his own town he is about to discover everything he thought he new about his world was a lie and not only is he going to have to fight for the truth but also the lives of everyone he has come to love.

What made me enjoy this book was the suspense that was great about what the truth was in New World. There were moments where you think you have worked it out but I will admit I didn’t quite have it totally worked out once it was finally revealed. Through out the start of the book I really thought the present from his mother was going to be the key and I was so frustrated at him but as the plot progressed I lost that.

The pace of the book was perfect in my opinion. There was just the right balance of action and a break to keep you hooked and not wanting to put the book down. I also felt this about the feelings of hope that occurred with the characters, you really felt every chance and blow they went through.

I have only just finished the book and I wasn’t expecting the ending. I wasn’t sure how it was going to carry on to the next book but what happened was nothing like anything I had considered. I can’t decide if I like it or not, but that is more to do with the emotional attachment more than the writing. From a writing point of view it is probably perfect.

This book has had so many good reviews I was nervous I wouldn’t enjoy it. Of course it has had so many good reviews and of course I did really enjoy it. I will admit that I couldn’t didn’t between a 3 or a 4 star rating on Goodreads. I am sure many people will think it should have 4 or 5 but although a very good book it doesn’t stand up against my favourites. However I can’t wait to get my hands on the next one and find out what is going to happen next.

 

2 thoughts on “The Knife Of Never Letting Go

    • Since I started book blogging this book has appeared so many times and always with good reviews, I was worried it might not live up to them but I have to admit it was a good reading. I’m interested to see what’s going to happen next

What's you Opinion ?

