Paper Towns

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows.

After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees of the girl he thought he knew.

I needed to read this book. Not because I have heard so much of about John Green and his books but because everything I have been reading recently has been so intense and I really needed something a bit more light hearted before I couldn’t pick up another book again.

Paper Towns is Q’s story. It is about how Margo who was once his best friend briefly comes back into his life for one night of utter madness and then suddenly disappears. She, however has always been in the back of Q’s mind though and after the night they spent together he can’t just accept that she has gone. Trying to solve the mystery that is Margo however is a difficult task and he still wants to finish school and now loose his friends. But he has only just began discovering a whole new side to himself.

As I have said I really needed to read something light hearted and although this book was full of drama it was an easy read. I have to admit that I do enjoy they John Green’s writing. I feel he gets a good balance of comedy, drama and seriousness and includes quotes that have a bigger meaning.  Despite that my favourite quote is a comic one from page 74 of the book;

“Ninja’s don’t splash other ninja’s,” Margo complained.
“The true ninja doesn’t make a splash at all”, I said.
“Ooh touche.”

It is just a great little conversation and reminds me of ones I have with my boyfriend.

The end of the book wasn’t really what I was expecting. When I got to part 2 of the book I was beginning to thing of the saying often found on the internet these days about people putting up walls just to see who cares enough to pull them down. However, I am sorry if this gives too much away, but this doesn’t turn out to be the case. However I can understand the ending and I think it helps make a point that is seen throughout the book. For me this point is about excepting people for who they are. Not just other people but also being able to accept yourself.

I enjoyed reading this book but it wasn’t as great as everyone makes out all Green’s work to be. I do appreciate his work but I think it is talked about so much that I was expecting more than it was. On saying that I do think it is a good book and I would recommend it.

2 thoughts on “Paper Towns

What's you Opinion ?

