WOW! – Flowers In The Attic

Such wonderful children. Such a beautiful mother. Such a lovely house. Such endless terror!

It wasn’t that she didn’t love her children. She did. But there was a fortune at stake–a fortune that would assure their later happiness if she could keep the children a secret from her dying father.

So she and her mother hid her darlings away in an unused attic.

Just for a little while.

But the brutal days swelled into agonizing years. Now Cathy, Chris, and the twins wait in their cramped and helpless world, stirred by adult dreams, adult desires, served a meager sustenance by an angry, superstitious grandmother who knows that the Devil works in dark and devious ways. Sometimes he sends children to do his work–children who–one by one–must be destroyed….

‘Way upstairs there are
four secrets hidden.
Blond, beautiful, innocent
struggling to stay alive….

I don’t even know where to begin describing this book. It is the traggic story of how 4 children living a perfect life are thrust into a horrific situation that will change everything. Stuck up in one room with just the attic to play in Cathy and Chris become substitute parents to their twin siblings trying to hold onto whatever hope they can to get them throw each day. With a terrying Grandmother devoted to religion and a mother who is trying to win back her father effection they are left to bring themselves up. However being locked up alone isn’t how children should live and somehow they have to stay strong and try and escape.

This book felt really intense to me. What happened in it still seems uncomprehensible and I can’t believe someone could imagine the things that written in this book. Throughout the first part of the book I felt a lot of suspicion. Mostly for the mother as how could she put her children through it but also for Chris because he acts as if he trust his mother but how can he? He must be hiding his feelings as I suppose most teenage boys do.

In the second part of this book the suspision is overtaken by more a feeling of horror. They way the children become more and more abbandoned andthe extreme actions of the Grandmother blow me away and at times I could feel myself welling up. Despite this thought there were a few moments that showed of the beauty of life. There is one chapter where they experience a little bit of freedom and it shows how important the simple things about life are. The other thing that I felt was powerful was the stregnth they had mentally to carry on when they were physically weak.  They knew they had to carry on for the twins as week as for themselves.

There is so much I will take away from this book but thing I feel I took most is the different age experiences. The characters in the book are all at different stages in their lives and so are effected differently by what is happening. The Grandmother as an older person has strong religious morals she feels must be upheld. The mother is trying to move on but being back with her parents is changed her with the selfishness having lots of money again brings. The twins are just starting their lives but their freedom and a loving structured family life it has been taken from them so they are unable to develop properly mentally and physically. Chris and Cathy I can sympathise more with as they are teenagers growing into young adults. They are struggling with sexuality and wanting to gain the futures they desire. I particularly felt for Cathy when she first learns about periods and her frustration that men don’t get a similar pain.

As you might be able to tell this book has had a bit impact on me. I don’t know how to talk about it without giving to much away but I hope I have managed. I think this is a good book, it was written in an approachable way and I was taken in by it to carry on reading. The story will stay with my for a long time I think I am interested to see what is going to happen in the next book.

What's you Opinion ?

