Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books/Authors I’m Thankful For

This week the lovely people of at The Broke and The Bookish have given us the topic of Top Ten Books/Authors I’m Thankful For. This wasn’t the easiest of topics I think. Mostly because I didn’t want to repeat all my favourite books that I have posted about so much already. So I have decided just to go for authors that I think have influenced my reading in various ways.

The Author that got me into reading

1. Roald Dahl. Although I have memories of reading before this it is his books that I remember being the first books that I really read on my own. We read them a lot at school and they were so good I always wanted to read them myself. 

Author Of My Pre-Teen Years

2. Michael Morpurgo Like Roald Dhal Michael Morpurgo was another author my teachers introduced me too and I got addicted to. I read quite a few of his books and I think enjoyed them all. 

Author Of My Early Teen Years

3. Catherine MacPahil Once I got to High school I moved on to Catherine MacPhail books. In my first year I went on a writing course with her and that was me hooked. I looked how her books seemed so much more grown up to me and they were always an interesting topic as well as a good read.

 Author Of  My First Adult Novels

4. Jodi Picoult I picked up my first Jodi Picoult book because one of the main characters had the same name as me and luckily for me it was also an amazing book. After this I felt more able to start reading adult books so that’s why she is on my list. 

 Authors That Got Me Into Reading Series 

5. Stephenie Meyer The Twilight series was the first series of books that I ever finished and my reading habbits have been totally changed ever since. 

6. Darren Shan I read his vampire series along side the Twilight series as I had to wait on Twilight books coming out while I think this series was finished or just about to be. I feel Darren Shan plays just as important a part for me becoming a series lover.

 Authors That Changed The Style Of Books I Read

7. Eleanor Updale I read her Montmorency series about a criminal who becomes a gentlemen to hide his crimes when I was just starting high school and it was the first time I had read anything like this. I tended to read more girly books and ones set in the present so this was a total change. 

8. Sophie McKenzie Once I got a bit older I started reading Sophie McKenzie. I read two of her series, one starting with Girl, Missing and the other Blood Ties and I was surprised to find that even though it was more action I really enjoyed it. I think she opened up my mind to more action based books and possibly the start of my love for dystopian. 

Authors Whose Writing Makes Me Think 

9. Malorie Blackman When I read her Noughts & Crosses series my mind was totally blown. I think it was the first time a book had made me really look at our society and I love her for that.

10. Tabitha Suzuma Although I have only read two of her books so far there are more on my to be read list because the topics of her work are always controversial. I love that she picks such interesting topics that really make you think about a variety of different things in life.

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books/Authors I’m Thankful For

  1. Oh Tabita! I read Forbidden this year, and was reallly really hooked. I was impressed with how she handled such a taboo subject and I really have to read her other books.

    I’m so glad you included her and I really like the way you organized this list! Hope you have a great week! – estelle @ ratherbereadingblog.com

  2. Roald Dahl! Love him! He is on my list too. My favorite is Matilda, but I haven’t read everything he’s written. I’ve read Matilda, James and the Giant Peach, The Fantastic Mr. Fox, and The Twits.

What's you Opinion ?

