Now Is Good the film of Before I Die

When I seen the advert for this film I had a suspicion it would be based on a book but was surprised when I found out it was based on one Jenny Downham’s books, Before I Die.

Making films of books is always a risky business and at first I was mostly just annoyed they had changed the name. However having read the book I had to go and see the film.

My conclusion? I loved it !

The film was beautiful and I will admit I cried my heart out at the end. The best thing about it though was that I felt that it kept to the book very well. The casting was done well and the acting brought to story to life making it believable. The plot followed that of the book and I could match up the scenes with the chapters. I think most people will be happy with the interpretation.

Going on a Sunday night meant there was only 4 of us in the screening and the after the other woman there was speaking to us and made a great point about how unlike a lot of American films that are about being a show with famous actors and eccentric clothing British films are very down to earth and more like real life. I think that is what makes this such a good film. You can imagine it as if it was almost a documentary and it was that which touched my heart.

If you have read this book I would suggest you see the film. Please come and tell me if you agree with me about it. If you haven’t read it then GO READ IT! and then go see the film.

Tessa has just months to live. Fighting back against hospital visits, endless tests, and drugs with excruciating side effects, Tessa compiles a list. It’s her To Do Before I Die list. And number one is Sex. Released from the constraints of “normal” life, Tessa tastes new experiences to make her feel alive while her failing body struggles to keep up. 

Tessa’s feelings, her relationships with her father and brother, her estranged mother, her best friend, and her new boyfriend, are all painfully crystallized in the precious weeks before Tessa’s time finally runs out.

What's you Opinion ?

