Code Name Verity

I have two weeks. You’ll shoot me at the end no matter what I do.

That’s what you do to enemy agents. It’s what we do to enemy agents. But I look at all the dark and twisted roads ahead and cooperation is the easy way out. Possibly the only way out for a girl caught red-handed doing dirty work like mine — and I will do anything, anything, to avoid SS-Hauptsturmführer von Linden interrogating me again.

He has said that I can have as much paper as I need. All I have to do is cough up everything I can remember about the British War Effort. And I’m going to. But the story of how I came to be here starts with my friend Maddie. She is the pilot who flew me into France — an Allied Invasion of Two.

We are a sensational team

I picked up this book at the Edinburgh International Book festival. To be honest part of the attraction was the pretty front cover but I also enjoy books about the second world war and this seemed like it could be an interesting new take on it.

The book is in two parts. Queenie has been captured by the Germans during a mission in France and after being tortured has agreed to write down her story and share what she knows about the British war effort. On any bit of paper she is given she tells the story of her friend Maddie, a pilot and the one who flew her to France. In telling her story she also includes bits of information that may be useful for the Germans. Her relationship with her captor however is what I would describe as almost flirty and she likes to wind up the woman that watches over her and translates her story.

However she only has a few weeks till her story will be told and her fate after that is not a pleasant one.

In the second part of the book we discover something that we believed to be true through the rest of the book isn’t that way. Queenie’s fate might be about to change.

This book isn’t about action although the characters are part of the war effort and some action does come later on. The story is really about friendship. How two girls become the best of friends when they work together and how much they mean to one another during the hardest times of their lives. The characters are well developed and you learn about their lives from a young age. I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this book but I enjoyed it. I think that if you like books to be full of action and fast paced then I don’t think this is the book for you. However if you like to read about nice characters and their relationships in a historic and interesting setting I think you will enjoy this book.

What's you Opinion ?

