Delirium

Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love — the deliria — blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the government demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.

I had been looking forward to reading this book as I liked the idea behind it and I am into dystopian at the moment but I can’t say I was impressed as I had been expecting.

17 year old Lena has never been a normal child. Her mother didn’t believe in the cure and as a child her happy memories are ones that she now realises are of breaking the law. Now living with her auntie and her family she is trying to live a law abiding life counting down the days till she can be cured. However her best friend Hana wants to enjoy the last summer together before they become proper and introduces Lena to a dangerous world. A world including Alex.

Lena thinks she is safe talking to him, she thinks he is cured. But Alex has a secret and Lena’s world is about to come tumbling down as she becomes very, very ill.

As with a few books of this genre the idea behind it is an interesting one. It is interesting how reading about love from another perspective can make you see it as an illness. However I was also disappointed. I felt that none of the characters in the books were particularly like-able and struggled to connect with the story. I did have some sympathy for the situation though and there were good parts, I liked the relationship Lena and Alex had and the world he is from and over all although I don’t love the book I didn’t dislike it either.

What's you Opinion ?

