Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books From The Past 10 Years I Hope People Will Be Reading in 30 Years

This weeks Top Ten Tuesday from The Broke and The Bookish is the Top Ten Books from the Past 10 Years I hope people will be reading in 30. This list may be very similar to others I have due to have already talked about books I particularly love but hope you agree with some of them. I have also gone over the 10 years for some of the books but only by 4/5 years and you will understand when you see them.

1. – 7. Harry Potter by JK Rowling

Ok I have kind of cheated with this but my first 7 have to be the Harry Potter books. Written between 1997 to 2007 I think they bring some magic into real life and are full or messages about friendship, loyalty, bravery and so much more. I believe that they will continue to be classics for many, many years to come and many more people will be captured by the imagination of JK Rowling. 

8. Matilda by Roald Dahl

Again this one is slight more than ten years. Written in 1998 this is also a story of magic but one that is for younger children. I think it shows that even in what might seem like horrible circumstances children can be amazing and I think many children will love hearing about Matilda’s story and want a teacher like Miss Honey.

9. Noughts & Crosses by Malorie Blackman

This story I believe is important because it makes us rethink how we see the world. I believe it can open many people eyes to how much things have changed over the past decade in how we view race but also that there is still a long way to go and it is important to realise that sometimes we ignore what is going on around us right under our noses. 

10. Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys

Written in 2011 this book reminds me of other war stories and I think it should be remembered along with them. It is a new story about a war not been written about a lot and it is important to be able to remember the variety of suffering people had to go through to reach where we are today.

11. The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne

I am also putting this in because I have the Harry Potters. This story was a big hit when it was released in 2006 as it came from a new perspective and was so sad. I believe people will be reading this for years to come as a new way of remember the tragedies of the war.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books From The Past 10 Years I Hope People Will Be Reading in 30 Years

  1. HAHAHA I was wondering where the other 6 books went and realized you counted the Harry Potter series as seven books. Nice post! I definitely agree with the Harry Potter, Matilda (I read them at least seven times each), and between shades of grey. Haven’t read the rest though, I will, one day!

  2. Harry Potter made up my entire childhood! Seriously. I read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone when I was in kindergarten and I just fell in love with the magical world Rowling created. I’m a huge Potterhead 🙂 I also loved Matilda but I liked Dr. Seuss’ stories more than Roald Dahl’s. I read The Boy in Striped Pajamas once while on a cruise, and I just started bawling by the time I got to the end 🙂 Haha 🙂 Thanks for posting!

What's you Opinion ?

