Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books In The Dystopian Genre

This weeks Top Ten Tuesday from The Broke and The Bookish is the Top Ten Books of ‘x’ genre. I have decided to go for Dystopian. This may be a popular one but it is the books I have been reading most of recently and I do really really enjoy them. For a change I am also going to put these in order of my favourite first too.

1. Divergent by Veronica Roth I have already blogged about this book on my page, however in a brief summary, it is a society of 5 factions and one girls choice of which to belong to. I really enjoyed this book, I wasn’t really sure what to expect but it was interesting from the start and not like others I had read. 

2,3. Matched and Crossed by Ally Condie This series is still in progress and I can’t wait for the third one. In these books, the heads of society control everything about it’s member lives however an experiment leads to the main character feeling uneasy about how they live and causes problems for everyone involved. 

4,5,6. The Hunger Games, Catching Fire and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins This is another unusual idea, where the members of society are split into 12 districts and two tributes a year a expected to fight one another to the death to remind them of the power of the capital. In these books however things don’t go to plan and it makes for an exciting trilogy.

7. Bumped by Megan McCafferty This is the most like our lives. However there is a virus that prevents adults (18+) from becoming pregnant. As a result people pay teenagers to have children for them. There are two main characters in this story, and when their lives come together everything begins to go pair shaped for them both. 

8. Ugliest by Scott Westerfield This book started off my liking of this type of series of books. I have only read this one, out of the four but I am about to read them all. The story finds us in a world where children are kept together as ‘uglies’ until they are old enough to be made pretty and go out into the real world. It is something the main character has never been happy with and when a new girl come to her dorm her live turns around. 

9. The Declaration by Gemma Malley This was another book of this genre I read early on. I liked the idea of it, however it is my least favourite of the genre. I haven’t read the second one yet but this one as many of the other see’s the main characters life turned abound when a new person arrives in her life. People are not allowed to have children in this society, as they have worked out how to live for a very long time, so children that are born are taken away to live in boarding school type places and learn to be useful, 

I know this is only 9 but I am still reading books from this genre. I am about to read the rest of the Scott Westerfield books, I will probably read the next two books in The Declaration series ( The Resistance and The Legacy)  and I would also like to read Delirium and Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver. So I guess having this Top Ten unfinished is just a sign that there are still books to read and that may fit in this list.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books In The Dystopian Genre

  1. You MUST read Delirium and Pandemonium (click my giveaway link and win a signed copy of Pandemonium)! Like, NOW! Also, don’t forget the classics like Fahrenheit 451 and 1984! Also, Wither and Fever by Lauren DeStefano, Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi, Pure by Julianna Baggott, The Forest of Hands and Teeth trilogy by Carrie Ryan… I could go on and on and on. It’s my favorite genre! Enjoy!

    Check out YA Litwit’s Top Ten Fairy Tale Retellings and my GIVEAWAY!

What's you Opinion ?

